Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal

Service: Navy, Marine Corps
Instituted: 1961/1967
Criteria: Meritorious service or achievement in a combat or noncombat situation based on sustained performance of a superlative nature
Devices: Bronze Letter “V” (for valor), Gold, Silver Star

Notes: Originally a ribbon only award: “Secretary of the Navy Commendation for Achievement Award with Ribbon”

Marine Corps Achievement Medal – History and Overview

For junior officers and enlisted personnel whose professional and/or leadership achievements on or after May 1, 1961 are clearly of a superlative nature. The Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal is worn after the Joint Service Achievement Medal and before the Combat Action Ribbon.

The Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal was originally established as a ribbon-only award on May 1, 1961. The current military medal was authorized by the Secretary of the Navy on July 17, 1967. The medal is awarded for both professional and leadership achievement. To be awarded for professional achievement, the act must clearly exceed that which is normally required or expected and must be an important contribution to benefit the United States Naval Service. To be recognized for leadership achievement, the act must be noteworthy and contribute to the individual’s unit mission.

The Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal was designed by the Institute of Heraldry. The medal is a bronze square (having clipped corners) with a fouled anchor in the center. There is a star in each of the four corners. The reverse of the medal is blank to allow for engraving the recipient’s name. The ribbon is myrtle green with stripes of orange near each edge. Additional awards of the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal are denoted by five-sixteenth inch gold stars. A Combat Distinguishing Device (Combat “V”) may be authorized.

Visit Medals of America for a full list of Marine Corps Medals or to use our USMC Medals Chart to make sure your Military Ribbons are in the correct order of precedence.