Military Divisions

US Military Divisions
Organized divisions have become a mainstay in the United States military, as it helps the Army to be more flexible, maneuverable, and manageable. Each military division is a large military unit or formation consisting of thousands of soldiers. Each one of these military divisions is capable of independent operation, making them the smallest combined arms units. Combined military divisions, then make up a Corps. In general two divisions are adjoined.

US Army Divisions
US Army divisions consist of 17,000 to 21,000 soldiers, and are often commanded by a major general, and composed of several regiments or brigades, including four maneuver brigades, one aviation brigade, one engineer brigade (excluded as of 2007), one division artillery (excluded as of 2007), and any number of small specialized unites.
The US Army has ten active military divisions. Learn more about each Army division below:

  1. 1st Armored Division; Old Ironsides – Fort Bliss, Texas
  2. 1st Cavalry Division; The First Team – Fort Hood, Texas
  3. 1st Infantry Division, The Big Red One – Fort Riley, Kansas and Fort Knox, Kentucky
  4. 2nd Infantry Division; Warrior Division – Republic of Korea and Fort Lewis, WA
  5. 3rd Infantry Division; Rock of the Marne and Marne Men – Fort Stewart, Georgia and Fort Benning, Georgia
  6. 4th Infantry Division; Ivy – Fort Carson, Colorado
  7. 10th Mountain Division; Mountaineer – Fort Drum, NY and Fort Polk, LA
  8. 25th Infantry Division; Tropic Lightning – Schofield Barracks, HI, Fort Richardson and Fort Wainwright, Arkansas
  9. 82nd Airborne Division; All-Americans – Fort Bragg, North Carolina
  10. 101st Airborne Division (Air Assault); The Screaming Eagles – Fort Campbell, Kentucky

The National Guard has eight active Army divisions. Learn about each Army division within the National Guard below:

  1. 28th Infantry Division; Keystone – Fort Indiantown Gap, Pennsylvania
  2. 29th Infantry Division; Blue and Grey – Fort Belvoir, Virginia
  3. 34th Infantry Division; Red Bull and Sandstorm – Rosemount, Minnesota
  4. 35th Infantry Division; Santa Fe – Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
  5. 36th Infantry Division; Texas and Lone Star – Camp Mabry, Texas
  6. 38th Infantry Division; Cyclone – Indianapolis, Indiana
  7. 40th Infantry Division ; Sunburst and Balls of Fire – Los Alamitos JFTB, California
  8. 42nd Infantry Division; Rainbow – Troy, New York

US Marine Corps Divisions
The United States Marine Corps has three active and one reserve division. These divisions consist of three infantry regiments, one artillery regiment, one tank battalion, one light armored reconnaissance battalion, one amphibious assault vehicle battalion, one reconnaissance battalion, one combat engineer battalion and one headquarters battalion.
The Marine Corps has four divisions. Learn more about each USMC division below:

  1. 1st Marine Division – Camp Pendleton, California
  2. 2nd Marine Division – Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
  3. 3rd Marine Division – Camp Smedley D. butler, Okinawa, Japan
  4. 4th Marine Division – New Orleans, Louisiana
Copyright © 2024 Medals of America. All rights reserved.